Sunday, January 27, 2008

Your Apple Isn't Vegan

I'm in the finishing stages of determining the budget for a grant application, and I was looking for some inexpensively priced shellac. Shellac's wikipedia page popped up, though I had not intended to do any wikiResearch today. Do a Google search a wikiPage pops up.

Shellac "is also used to replace the natural wax of the apple, which is removed during the cleaning process[2]. When used for this purpose, it has the food additive E number E904. This coating may not be considered as vegetarian as it may, and probably does, contain crushed insects. It is definitely not vegan."

Interesting. Just when you were questioning your carbon footprint when buying an apple from Ecuador or New Zealand comes the news that the apples you serve at parties can no longer be consumed by that one vegan friend you have. Pity.

No comments: